Voting now open for 2019 Freddie Awards

Voting is now open for the 2019 Freddie Awards, where travelers decide which airlines and hotels have the best loyalty programs in the world.

Since 1988, the Freddie Awards have been widely recognized by frequent flyers and travel industry executives as the preeminent honor for travel loyalty programs.

Created by Randy Petersen, the publisher and editor of InsideFlyer magazine, the “Freddies” are named in honor of Sir Freddie Laker. The goal of the Freddie Awards is to give voice to the frequent flier and to honor the efforts of an industry that counts more than 300 million members worldwide, according to the Freddie Awards website.

Last year more than 4.2 million voters from 237 countries cast ballots.

"It's always a reminder to us that this is about 'the voice of the frequent flyer'," Petersen told TheTravelPro in an email. "I'm pretty happy that ... our fellow travelers have a place to they can let the world know who has their loyalty."

Travelers from around the world can vote for their favorite loyalty programs, including airline frequent flier programs, hotel loyalty programs and co-branded "affinity" credit cards. Travelers can cast ballots in 14 different languages. Votes can be cast in English, Portuguese, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Italian, Turkish, Arabic, Russian, Hindi, Chinese, Korean and Japanese.

The Freddie Awards recognizes frequent traveler programs within three separate regions: the Americas, Europe/Africa and the Middle East/Asia/Oceania. Travelers who choose to participate can cast votes in 11 categories:
  • Program of the Year (Airline)
  • Program of the Year (Hotel)
  • Best Promotion (Airline)
  • Best Promotion (Hotel)
  • Best Redemption Ability (Airline)
  • Best Redemption Ability (Hotel)
  • Best Customer Service (Airline)
  • Best Customer Service (Hotel)
  • Best Loyalty Credit Card
  • Best Elite Program (Airline), and
  • Best Elite Program (Hotel)
Voting closes on March 31. The awards will be presented on April 25 in Dallas at the C.R. Smith Museum for an evening of spectacular achievements and recognition.

For more about the Freddies, see my previous articles detailing the winners from the 201820172016,  2015 and 2014 Freddie Awards, or visit

Visit my main page at for more news, reviews, and personal observations on the world of upmarket travel.

Photo provided by The Freddie Awards
Click on photo to view larger image

If you found this article helpful, informative and/or entertaining, please consider making a donation via PayPal to help support this private project.