Voting for 'Freddies' closes Friday

Only a few days remain for travelers to cast their ballots for the 2017 Freddie Awards and decide which airlines and hotels have the best loyalty programs in the world. Voting closes Friday, Mar. 31.

So far, more than four million travelers have cast their votes, eclipsing last year's 3.5 million votes, according to award creator Randy Petersen.

"It's always a reminder to us that this is about 'the voice of the frequent flier" and I'm pretty happy that ... our fellow travelers have a place to they can let the world know who has their loyalty," Petersen told TheTravelPro in an email.

2017 is the 29th year of the Freddie Awards. Petersen, the publisher and editor of InsideFlyer magazine, created the “Freddies” in 1988 and named them in honor of Sir Freddie Laker and have grown in stature and importance to become the most prestigious member-generated awards in the travel loyalty industry. The goal of the Freddie Awards is to give voice to the frequent flier and to honor the efforts of an industry that counts more than 300 million members worldwide, according to the Freddie Awards website.

Travelers from around the world can vote for their favorite loyalty programs, including airline frequent flier programs, hotel loyalty programs and co-branded "affinity" credit cards. Travelers can cast ballots in 13 different languages, up from nine last year. Votes can be cast in English, German, Spanish, French, Chinese, Japanese, Dutch, Portuguese, Italian, Korean, Turkish, Hindi and Arabic.

The Freddie Awards recognizes frequent traveler programs within three separate regions: the Americas, Europe/Africa and the Middle East/Asia/Oceania. Travelers who choose to participate can cast votes in 11 categories:
  • Program of the Year (Airline)
  • Program of the Year (Hotel)
  • Best Promotion (Airline)
  • Best Promotion (Hotel)
  • Best Redemption Ability (Airline)
  • Best Redemption Ability (Hotel)
  • Best Customer Service (Airline)
  • Best Customer Service (Hotel)
  • Best Loyalty Credit Card
  • Best Elite Program (Airline), and
  • Best Elite Program (Hotel)
The awards will be presented on April 27 at a special ceremony at the Hyatt Regency in Jersey City in the metropolitan New York City area.

For more about the Freddies, see my previous articles detailing the winners from the 2016,  2015 and 2014 Freddie Awards, or visit

Visit my main page at for more news, reviews, and personal observations on the world of upmarket travel.

Photo provided by The Freddie Awards
Click on photo to view larger image